top of page

The University of Pernambuco (UPE) had its origins in the Pernambuco Higher Education Foundation – FESP, which has maintained, since 1965, a group of pre-existing Higher Education Units in the State. When FESP was extinguished in 1990, the Fundação Universidade de Pernambuco was created in its place, by State Law No. 10,518, of November 29, 1990, a public law institution that would become the sponsor of the new University of Pernambuco, recognized by the Ordinance Ministerial nº 964, of June 12, 1991.

Linked to the Secretariat of Science and Technology of the State of Pernambuco (SECTEC), UPE constitutes a heritage of society in this State. Its mission is to contribute to the sustainable development of Pernambuco through teaching, research and university extension.

UPE is a public higher education institution present in all regions of the State. In its multicampi complex, formed by 15 teaching units and three large hospitals, distributed in Recife and the Metropolitan Region, in Nazaré da Mata, Caruaru, Garanhuns, Arcoverde, Salgueiro, Petrolina, Serra Talhada and Palmares. In addition to the teaching and health units, the UPE university complex also includes the Rectory and four primary and secondary schools (Escola do Recife and Escolas de Aplicação).

The University's vision is to be recognized by society and various government bodies, for its contribution to sustainable development in all regions of the State, due to its excellence in teaching, research and university extension, assuming, definitely as a state, public and free university. The presence of the University institution in different regions and cities plays a crucial role in the social and economic development in which it operates, generating not only the training of professionals, but also the construction of knowledge and articulated dissemination in communities through the articulation of teaching, research and extension.

bottom of page